The Environmental Stewardship Award 

The Environmental Stewardship Award logo

Since 1996, The Environmental Stewardship Award (TESA) has been awarded annually at the provincial and national level to recognize cattle producers’ leadership in conservation. Nominees and applicants are selected based on their stewardship practices, accomplishments and goals.


All beef cattle operations in Canada are eligible to apply. Producers can either be nominated by an individual or organization or apply themselves. Both methods are equally encouraged. Nominees and applicants compete for one of five provincial awards based on their province of residence. Past nominees are encouraged to resubmit their application. Previous recipients may not reapply.

Provincial Award - Sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

The Ontario recipient is announced at the Beef Farmers of Ontario's (BFO) Annual General Meeting in February and then moves forward to compete at the national level.

National Award

The national TESA recipient is announced during the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association National Convention and Semi-Annual Meeting. All provincial recipients are awarded an all-expense paid trip for two to attend the CCA Semi-Annual Meeting that is held in different locations across Canada in August of each year. The national TESA recipient is also awarded a belt buckle and a monetary award to put towards their operation’s future environmental goals.

Application Deadline

Applications are due November 30 of each year. Please send application to the BFO office by mail, fax or email.

Download a PDF copy of the application.

Ontario Environmental Stewardship Award Winners

Jackie and Steven Pemberton, 2021 TESA winners

2021 - Jackie & Steven Pemberton of Pemdale Farms, 2021 recipients of The Environmental Stewardship Award (TESA). Due to the virtual aspect of the 2021 AGM, we were unable to congratulate in person, however we hope to do so at some point in the near future.

Paul de Jong, 2020 TESA winner

2020 - Amanda Hammell (L) of RBC Royal Bank presents Paul De Jong (M) of Temiskaming District with the 2020 Environmental Stewardship Award, along with BFO President Rob Lipsett and Executive Director Richard Horne (R).

The Mapleseed Pasture Award

Each year the Beef Farmers of Ontario partner with Mapleseed and the Ontario Forage Council in sponsoring the Mapleseed Pasture Award. This is an excellent opportunity to recognize an individual producer who has demonstrated good use of resources through selection and management of pastures.

The winner is announced at the Annual General Meeting of the Beef Farmers of Ontario in Toronto held in February each year and presented with a cash award of $500.00 donated by Mapleseed.  

To submit a nomination or application, submit a Beef Pasture Application Form.

Completed applications must be received by the Ontario Forage Council by November 30, 2021.  

Ontario Mapleseed Pasture Award Winners

2021 Mapleseed Pasture Award recipients, MurrayHill Farm

2021 - Jeff & Denise Byers of MurrayHill Farm, 2021 recipients of the Mapleseed Pasture Award. Due to the virtual aspect of the 2021 AGM, we were unable to congratulate in person, however we hope to do so at some point in the near future.  

Jeff & Kristina Pollard, 2020 Mapleseed Pasture Award Winners

2020 - Scott Fisher (L) of Mapleseed and Ray Robertson (R) of the Ontario Forage Council present Jeff and Kristina Pollard (M) of Rainy River District with the 2020 Ontario Mapleseed Pasture Award.


© Copyright 2022 Beef Farmers of Ontario