The Environmental Stewardship Award

The Environmental Stewardship Award Logo

Ontario beef is not only produced sustainably, it also has a positive impact on our environment. This dedication to our land and the future of our farms needs to be highlighted and shared, not only within our industry but to our consumers and the public.

Since 1995, The Environmental Stewardship Award (TESA) has been awarded annually by the Beef Farmers of Ontario to recognize beef farmers’ leadership in conservation within the province of Ontario. Nominees and applicants are selected based on their stewardship practices, accomplishments and goals.

Each year, the Ontario recipient of the environmental award is recognized at the Beef Farmers of Ontario (BFO) Annual General Meeting in February.

How to Nominate:

  • Nominate a beef farmer who you feel is deserving of recognition for their environmental
    efforts or we equally encourage beef farmers to nominate themselves for the award.
  • Please complete the Ontario TESA Nomination Form for BFO’s consideration.
  • All nomination forms will be kept on file for future consideration.

Selection Process:

  • The selection of the successful recipient will take place in July of each year, and the recipient will be recognized at the following BFO Annual General Meeting in February.

The Ontario TESA recipient will receive:

  • a $2,000 cash award, and a $500 donation to a BFO-approved conservancy or environmental group of their choice
  • the choice between a farm sign or commemorative trophy
  • a feature in an Ontario Beef video showcasing their environmental work, and its importance to sustainability and stewardship
  • a trip for two to the Canadian Beef Industry Conference (courtesy of the Canadian Cattle Association), which is held in different locations across Canada in August of each year, to compete for the national TESA title


Please send nominations to the BFO office by mail, fax or email.


Ontario Environmental Stewardship Award Winners

2024 Ontario TESA Recipient - Circle H Farms, Rainy River District
2023 Ontario TESA Recipient - Lynn Leavitt, Prince Edward County

The Mapleseed Pasture Award

Each year the Beef Farmers of Ontario partner with Mapleseed and the Ontario Forage Council in sponsoring the Mapleseed Pasture Award. This is an excellent opportunity to recognize an individual producer who has demonstrated good use of resources through selection and management of pastures.

The winner is announced at the Annual General Meeting of the Beef Farmers of Ontario in Toronto held in February each year and presented with a cash award of $500.00 donated by Mapleseed.

To submit a nomination or application, submit a Beef Pasture Application Form.

Completed applications must be received by the Ontario Forage Council by November 30, 2024.

Ontario Mapleseed Pasture Award Winners

2024 - (L to R) JPD Angus - Chris Stoneman; Michaela Stoneman (Chalmers); Scott Fisher, Mapleseed; Birgit Martin, Chair of the Ontario Forage Council.
Tom Aikins Mapleseed Pasture Award
2023 - (L to R) Jack Chaffe, BFO President; Tom Aikins, Recipient of Mapleseed Pasture Award; Scott Fisher, Mapleseed; Ray Robertson, Ontario Forage Council.